How my daughter learned to share at 7 month old and the lesson I was reminded of


You know, there is one important way to teach someone something and that is by the power of example. This is what I was reminded of lately by my own daughter. It is not enough to teach by words but is extremely important to teach by your attitude.

My daughter, now 8 month old, gladly shares with me, her father, her sisters, and her teddy bear when she eats something. Including pacifier, remote, my iPhone or any other toys she is chewing on. This happened because each time I would eat something mainly fruits or veggies (safe foods for babies) I would give her a taste of it as well.  By me sharing with her she is now sharing with me and others.

I think this makes her feel like the big people , like she is empowered  but her acting so sweet at this age and sharing I think is great and makes me proud. Hopefully this will remain as a foundation of her personality. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “How my daughter learned to share at 7 month old and the lesson I was reminded of

  1. Your post made me realize that I should allow my baby to taste the foods I eat and involve her in every thing I do. She’s currently 6 months and I just started feeding her puree. She enjoys it so far, or at least I think she does 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mine started solids at 4 months so by 6 months I got relaxed about the foods she eats. Yes, I think it’s important for us to do that and teach them by the power of example. Every time she reached for something, I let her touch and taste if it’s not dangerous for her. She even gets drinks of water from the glass each time I do. Thank you for your reply and hugs from us for you and your baby girl. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

