One extra second


One extra second

We are in the last month of the year.  There is joy everywhere but there is also rush. Rush to decorate, to plan for the holidays, to buy all the gifts, and to finish everything at work before Christmas.  There is a lot to do but we must not let this year pass before our eyes., not before we collect the yearly fruits.

 

I know for myself that one of the  places I feel most present is in the arms of nature – when I look at the sky or notice a bird flying overhead.  It is only for a moment, but it matters.  It matters to notice the beauty of life, it matters that I am present.

I remember how I was in such a hurry to come from work, change my clothes and run in the park before it got dark , just to shake myself off  and have my nature moment .

That extra second !

I would just sit there quiet, looking around and smile peacefully.

The other day, I went out in the yard to play with the dogs when a strong orange light struck my face.  I hurried to look at the sky. The effects of the sunset left me without words. I felt an immense joy in my soul. I felt lucky I went outside at that moment. I could have missed it and it was there just for us to see it and enjoy it. I sat down and I stared at the sky, watching it getting darker while the dogs were playing around me. The colors on the sky were changing like a show of lights. I keep reminding myself that I could have missed this beautiful moment.

The most recent thing I discovered is how life and death work beautifully together. How everything is so interconnected but independent of each other at the same time.  I realized this while I watched the dead leaves staring up at me from the bottom of the lake.

Have you looked at the sky lately? Have you noticed the trees or that snowflake falling on your cheek while you were in a hurry? Did you take an extra second to just stop , breath, observe and feel ? One extra second to be present in the world around you? Just one second! One!

 

IMG_1233

4 thoughts on “One extra second

  1. This is so beautiful! I sometimes wonder that we are missing on life in the rat race.. getting that promotion, buying a bigger house..all that slowly kills life within us..this post just reminded me to look around more often 🙂

    Like

      1. 🙂 I’m so glad you think so about India! Really..these types of posts make your day.. these make you realize..they make you think..and feel! I look forward to more of this from you!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

